S-P-E-L-L-I-N-G (new word) B-E-E; Tonight’s the Night

Get ready to dust off those dictionaries because 24 of the best and brightest students in the Culver City Unified School District are getting ready to S-P-E-L-L their way to the top!

Tonight, four students from each of the district’s five elementary schools and Culver City Middle School will compete in CCUSD’s district-wide spelling bee at Linwood E. Howe Elementary School Cafetorium.

The competition, sponsored by Westfield Culver City, will begin at 7 p.m. Admission is free, and the public is invited to attend. The Spelling Bee will be taped and broadcast on the local cable access channel shortly after the event.

“Every year, millions of students participate in spelling competitions around the country,” said Superintendent Dave LaRose. “We are excited that we will be having our eighth annual districtwide spelling bee right here in Culver City. It’s a wonderful event that I hope everyone will come and watch.”

The winner of the CCUSD Spelling Bee will advance to the county-wide competition in March in Alhambra, and the winner from the Los Angeles County competition will advance to the statewide spelling bee in May at Sonoma State University.

In addition, the top three finishers in the CCUSD competition will receive cash prizes, courtesy of Westfield Culver City; and every participant will receive a certificate.

All 4th, 5th and 6th-grade students throughout the district have had an opportunity to compete at the school level first, and the top four spellers have advanced to the district-wide competition. They are:

Culver City Middle School: Isabel Berliner, Josh Nascimento, Kenzi Bishara and Ben Vizcarra-Barton;
El Marino Language School: Cooper Komatsu, Chase McGill, Joshua Nisenson and Sofia Stuart;
El Rincon Elementary School: Willow Guy, Joaquin Krygowski, Eyobed Lemma and Aidan Martin;
Farragut Elementary School: Roshan Chhetri, Miles Concepcion, Samir Mallya and Darya Treanor;
La Ballona Elementary School: Julianna DeNeve, Rikesh Patel, Rukhsar Shaikh and Layla Van Buren; and
Linwood E. Howe Elementary School: Sophia Coon, Grace Jacobsen, June Metzler and Ruby Walsleben.

The Actors' Gang

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.