Culver City Historical Society; New Year, New Board, Hope Remains (as President)

The Rotunda Room at the Vets Memorial Center was decked out in blue tablecloths, where members of the Culver City Historical Society gathered on Wednesday, Jan. 15 2020 to install the organization’s new board members. The annual dinner offered the sold-out crowd a chance to honor those who had supported the many offerings and programs of the previous year, and plan for the next.

After an introduction by President Hope Parrish, who had offered to return for another term, the ceremony was presided over by Vice Mayor Goran Eriksson. He spoke abut the value of the CCHS to the community, and noted that “the past creates the present, and so the future.” The board members and volunteers from the previous year were asked to stand for a round of applause, and were then officially dismissed, with all offices declared vacant.

President Parrish quipped “Did we just fire everyone? Ok, you are all fired.”

The new board was named, with Carolyn Wispe-Burns remaining on as Treasurer, Dennis Parrish stepping up as Vice President of Programming, Tami Eskridge taking on the job of Vice President of Museums and Archives, and former Secretary Emelie Gerard filling the role of Vice President of Development. In addition, Jeanne Conklin will preside over Membership, and Denice Renteria and  Michelle Bernardin will head Communications, with Bernardin staying on as Newsletter Editor.
Scott Malsin will also continue as Webmaster, Kevin Lachoff as Photographer, Mark Morris as Videographer, and Andy Weissman as Government Liaison. 

While this might seem like a full contingent, there are still positions open, and volunteers are needed.

The next meeting will not be held until April, featuring a collaboration with the Mayme Clayton Museum and Archive, and there will be an event dedicating an historical marker when the new playground is opened at Tellefson Park.

Founded in 1980, the CC Historical Society meets regularly on the third Wednesday of every month, and the Archive and Resource Center is open the first and third Sunday of every month.

Judith Martin-Straw

Photo – Officers of the CCHS, from left to right – Mark Morris, Denise Renteria, Emelie Gerard, Tami Eskridge, Micheal Laase, Carolyn Wispe-Burns, and Hope Parrish.

The Actors' Gang

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.