Symphonic Jazz Orchestra – Composition Competition

The SJO is proud to announce its 5th annual ASCAP Foundation/Symphonic Jazz Orchestra Commissioning Prize competition, which is open to all direct ASCAP composer members, with a submission deadline of Aug. 31st.

The $5,000 prize honors former Symphonic Jazz Orchestra Co-Music Director and ASCAP board member, George Duke and his lasting musical legacy.

The Music Advisory Board of the SJO will select the winning composer, who will be commissioned to write a new orchestral score for the SJO, blending jazz & classical music – and beyond. The newly commissioned work will be premiered by the 68-member SJO in 2020/21 and entered into the SJO’s catalog of symphonic jazz commissions.

The ASCAP Foundation/Symphonic Jazz Orchestra Commissioning Prize is made possible in part by a grant from The ASCAP Foundation Louis Armstrong Fund.

For guidelines and details about how to apply, please visit or call 310-876-8130.

The Actors' Gang

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.