Cathi Vargas Wins Honors from West Basin

West Basin Municipal Water District hosted nearly 1,100 attendees at the 20th annual Water Harvest festival on Saturday, Oct. 20. During this time, the West Basin board of directors celebrated local businesses and individuals who have made a significant impact through their commitment to water reliability during an awards ceremony at the event.

“Our success of achieving water reliability is contingent upon the support we receive from the members of our community,” said West Basin Board President Donald L. Dear. “Our Water Reliability Award winners have made water conservation and embracing a water-efficient lifestyle an active conversation and commitment in their daily lives. We are grateful to celebrate them as they continue to share West Basin’s message throughout the District.”

Each of West Basin’s five elected officials chose an awards recipient within their division. The 2018 Water Reliability Award winners include:

Division I – Palos Verdes Peninsula Chamber of Commerce
West Basin Director Harold C. Williams represents the cities of Carson, Palos Verdes Estates, Rancho Palos Verdes, Rolling Hills, Rolling Hills Estates and unincorporated LA County areas of Rancho Dominguez.

Director Williams presented Eileen Hupp, president and CEO of the Palos Verdes Peninsula Chamber of Commerce, with a 2018 Water Reliability Award. The Chamber has remained proactive with educating its members on regional water news and encouraging participation in West Basin programs, and often invites West Basin staff and elected officials to present on topics relating to local water issues.

Division II – City of Inglewood Public Works
West Basin Director Gloria D. Gray represents the City of Inglewood and unincorporated LA County areas of Lennox, South Ladera Heights, West Athens and Westmont.

Director Gray presented Inglewood Public Works director Louis Atwell with a 2018 Water Reliability Award. Inglewood’s public works department was instrumental in the installation of an ocean friendly demonstration garden at City Hall. The 1,500 square-foot garden showcases water conservation with its design, which features California native plants, drip and smart irrigation, storm water runoff capture and a permeable pathway.

Division III – Craig Cadwallader of the Surfrider Foundation, South Bay Chapter

West Basin Director Carol W. Kwan represents the cities of Hermosa Beach, Lomita, Manhattan Beach, Redondo Beach and a portion of Torrance.

Director Kwan presented Craig Cadwallader of the Surfrider Foundation with a 2018 Water Reliability

Award. Cadwallader’s work with the District has created impactful programs in partnership with the

Foundation. This includes the installation of 17 ocean friendly gardens throughout West Basin’s service area as well as West Basin participation in Surfrider’s “Teach and Test” program, which allows high school students to volunteer to monitor water quality in the Santa Monica Bay by collecting and processing water samples.

Division IV – Cathi Vargas, environmental coordinator, City of Culver City
West Basin Director Scott Houston represents Culver City, El Segundo, Malibu, West Hollywood, and the unincorporated Los Angeles County areas of Topanga, Marina del Rey, Windsor Hills, View Park, North Ladera Heights, Del Aire, Wiseburn and a portion of Lennox.

Director Houston presented Cathi Vargas, environmental coordinator for the City of Culver City, with a 2018 Water Reliability Award. Vargas has enhanced the District’s relationship with the City by sharing engaging water-related content across the City’s social media platforms. She has also been instrumental in assisting with hosting and driving attendance to West Basin community events located in Culver City.

Division V – Hawthorne resident Dr. Kiran R. Magiawala

West Basin Director Donald. L. Dear represents the cities of Gardena, Hawthorne, Lawndale and the unincorporated Los Angeles County area of El Camino Village.

Director Dear presented Dr. Kiran R. Magiawala, a Hawthorne resident and retired aerospace engineer from Northrop Grumman, with a 2018 Water Reliability Award. Over the past decade, Dr. Magiawala has supported West Basin through attending inspection trips of the state’s water systems, staying engaged with development at Edward C. Little Water Recycling Facility, as well as participating in various classes and workshops hosted by West Basin. His dedication to learning about local water issues is truly admired by the board.

The Actors' Gang

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.