Judges Named for Wilson Monolgues

august-wilsonCenter Theatre Group is announcing five judges from varying professions that will participate in the 2017 August Wilson Monologue Competition (AWMC) Regional Finals taking place at the Mark Taper Forum on Monday, February 27. The judges will evaluate performances from 12 local high school students as they perform monologues from August Wilson’s “The American Century Cycle,” a 10-play dramatization of the African American experience in the 20th century. The event will be hosted by KTLA’s Kaj Goldberg.
The judges are, in alphabetical order, Wren T. Brown (Ebony Repertory Theatre Artistic Director), Kim Coleman (casting director), Gregg T. Daniel (Lower Depth Theatre Ensemble Artistic Director), Dennis Haysbert (actor in Fox’s “24,” CBS’ “The Unit”) and Karla Souza (actor in ABC’s “How to Get Away with Murder”).
This is the sixth consecutive year that Center Theatre Group is hosting the Southern California component of the national monologue competition, which is designed to inspire and educate Los Angeles students through Wilson’s work.
The students that will participate in the AWMC regional finals are Joey Aquino (Los Angeles), Luke Baxter (Moreno Valley), Kelly Bouslaiby (Fontana), Hollis Dohr (Sherman Oaks), Asa Ferguson (Los Angeles), Hannah Franklin (Long Beach), Elija Hall (Los Angeles), Habin Lee (Los Angeles), Arjang Mahdavi (Granada Hills), Ehvinny Mora (Rowland Heights), Alexander Villaseñor (Los Angeles) and Aryana Williams (Carson). The students represent seven local high schools within Los Angeles, Orange and San Bernardino counties.

The Actors' Gang

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.