Kentwood Players Announce Marcom-Masque Winners

10269501_10202139298834456_601173909763055048_nKentwood Players, the community theater group based at the Westchester Playhouse, was founded in December 1949 by Jan and Arky Marcom. At the end of each season, all Kentwood Players members in good standing who have seen all six shows vote by secret ballot and then the group presents their annual Marcom Masque Awards to the winners in each category at an entertainment-filled awards ceremony. The first Marcom Masque Awards were presented for the 1957-1958 season with “Cat on a Hot Tin Roof” winning the award for Best Play.

For the 2013-2014 season, every cast member and technical designer for each show of the season (California Suite – Lend Me a Tenor – Little Shop of Horrors – It’s a Wonderful Life: A Live Radio Play – Becky’s New Car – Fiddler on the Roof) was nominated for a Marcom Masque Award in appropriate categories. This year’s Marcom Masque Awards Ceremony was held on Saturday, June 28, 2014, and Kentwood Players is pleased to announce the winners of their 2013-2014 Marcom Masque Awards:

Best Play: Fiddler on the Roof

Harold Dershimer for Fiddler on the Roof

Rocky and Victoria Miller for Fiddler on the Roof

Actor in a Leading Role:
Bradley Miller as Tevye the Milkman in Fiddler on the Roof

Actress in a Leading Role:
Cherry Norris as Becky Foster in Becky’s New Car

Major Supporting Actor:
Scot Renfro as Tito Merelli in Lend Me a Tenor

Major Supporting Actress:
Maria Pavone as Maria in Lend Me a Tenor

Minor Supporting Actor:
Michael Willens as the Bellhop in Lend Me a Tenor

Minor Supporting Actress:
Jennifer Sperry as Fruma-Sarah in Fiddler on the Roof

Minor Role Actor:
Paul Callender-Clewett as the Fiddler in Fiddler on the Roof

Minor Role Actress:
Fiona Okida as Tevye’s daughter Bielke in Fiddler on the Roof

Cameo Role Male:
Bruce Starrett as the Priest in Fiddler on the Roof

Cameo Role Female:
Barbara Haberman as Vine Puppeteer in Little Shop of Horrors

Set Design:
Scot Renfro for Fiddler on the Roof

Set Decoration Design:
Scot Renfro for Fiddler on the Roof

Lighting Design:
Bruce Starrett for Fiddler on the Roof

Sound Design:
Bruce Starrett for Little Shop of Horrors

Original Graphic Design:
Michael Cohen for Lend Me a Tenor

Costume Design:
Kathy Dershimer for Fiddler on the Roof

During the awards ceremony, Certificates of Recognition were presented by Shawn K. Summerer, Kentwood Players’ Production Manager, to all members who worked behind-the-scenes on two or more productions during the season.

Pictured above – 2013-2014 Kentwood Players Marcom Masque Award Winners
(Front row, from left) Bruce Starrett, Victoria Miller, Rocky Miller,
Kathy Dershimer, Harold Dershimer
(Back row, from left): Michael Cohen, Maria Pavone, Cherry Norris,
Bradley Miller, Fiona Okida, Jennifer Sperry
Photo credit: Shari Barrett
The Actors' Gang

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.