Perez Gets Support from Mitchell for Speaker Post

At their organizational caucus following their historic election, Assembly Democrats unanimously chose Speaker John A. Pérez (D-Los Angeles) to continue as their party’s leader.

“In the new legislative session we will have 54 Democrats hitting the ground running, eager to work for jobs, recovery and economic growth for California, and I am honored and humbled to receive the unanimous support of my colleagues to continue leading that effort,” Pérez said.

According to BlackVoiceNews, Perez stated “It is very meaningful to me to have the support of my current colleagues, who have each achieved much already in the Assembly, and to have the support of my new colleagues, who poured their hearts and souls into their campaigns to represent the people of their districts.”

Nominating Speaker Pérez as Democratic leader today were Assemblymembers Wes Chesbro (D-Eureka), Holly Mitchell (D-Culver City), Richard Pan (D-Sacramento) and Henry Perea (D-Fresno), and Assemblymembers-elect Ken Cooley (D-Rancho Cordova), Susan Eggman (D-Stockton) and Sharon Quirk Silva (D-Fullerton).

1933 was the last time either party held a 2/3 majority in both houses, with Republicans in control. The last time Democrats had a 2/3rds majority in both houses was in 1883. The Democrats had a 2/3 majority in the Assembly in the 1975-76 and the 1977-78 sessions. Democrats last had a 2/3 majority in the Senate in 1965. In 2010, Speaker Pérez was the only Democratic leader nationwide to add to a legislative majority.

The members of the Legislature for the 2013-14 session will be sworn in at 12 p.m. on December 3 in the State Capitol. Democrats will nominate Speaker Pérez to continue serving as Speaker of the Assembly at that time.

The Actors' Gang

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.