Wende Museum Inaugurates Transformation Prize

Culver City nonprofit leaders came together at the Wende Museum on Wednesday, Feb. 26, 2020 for the first-ever Culver City Nonprofit Convening and the presentation of the inaugural Nonprofit Transformation Prize to The Achievable Foundation. Representatives of the more than 220 nonprofit organizations based in Culver City were invited to the Wende for panel discussions on topics such as the future of philanthropy, staff development, and efforts to achieve diversity, equity, and inclusion.

Speakers included Culver City Council Member Thomas Small, Mark Hower (Antioch University), Colin Diaz (Culver City Chamber of Commerce), James Limbaugh (West Los Angeles College), Claire Peeps (Durfee Foundation), Jim Herr (Annenberg Foundation), Bob Lazzarini (Antioch University), Jim Clarke (Leadership Culver City; West Los Angeles College), and Christine Glasco (Upward Bound House). Thomas Backer (California State University Northridge) moderated the convening.

The program concluded with the presentation of the 2020 Nonprofit Transformation Prize to The Achievable Foundation by Culver City Mayor Meghan Sahli-Wells. The new annual prize is awarded to a Culver City nonprofit that serves vulnerable community members in a transformational way, such as starting an innovative new program or expanding the scope of their outreach. The prize includes a $5,000 grant, funded for the first four years by a gift from Wende Museum Board Member Thomas E. Backer, PhD.

“The missions of museums are changing. From free admission to becoming community hubs as public libraries have done, these changes are moving museums beyond community engagement to increasing accessibility and providing direct community services. As part of its commitment to the Culver City community, the Wende is proud to host this annual gathering where Culver City nonprofits can learn from and share resources with each other,” Backer said.

The Achievable Foundation, which addresses the needs of adults and children with developmental disabilities, was selected for the inaugural Nonprofit Transformation Award by a blue-ribbon committee of Culver City community leaders, including Joanna Brody, Jim Clarke, Rich Hibbs, Bob Lazzarini, Janet Levine, Janice Pober, Thomas Wilson, and Debbi Winter.

The Culver City Nonprofit Convening was co-sponsored by Antioch University, Culver City Chamber of Commerce, the Wende Museum, and West Los Angeles College.

Chloe Ginnegar

Photo – Carmen Ibarra, Executive Director of The Achievable Foundation, receives the award from Mayor Meghan Sahli-Wells

The Actors' Gang

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.