Marcom Masque Award Winners Announced

13510861_10206447671861089_3396826979490443905_nKentwood Players, the community theater group based at the Westchester Playhouse, was founded in December 1949 by Jan and Arky Marcom, for whom the group’s annual Marcom Masque Awards are named. The first Marcom Masque Awards were presented for the 1957-1958 season with “Cat on a Hot Tin Roof” winning the award for Best Play.

During the run of all six productions in their 2015-2016 season, all Kentwood Players members voted by secret ballot in several artistic categories after seeing each show. The votes were tallied and Kentwood Players presented their annual Marcom Masque Awards to the winners in each category. This year, a new category “Season Subscriber Favorite Show” was added, allowing Season Subscribers to vote by secret ballot on each show’s production quality as a whole after seeing it. The 2015-2016 season included 4000 Miles, Brighton Beach Memoirs, Ravenscroft, Something’s Afoot, A Raisin in the Sun, and Man of La Mancha.

This year’s Marcom Masque Awards Ceremony was held on Saturday, June 25, 2016, and Kentwood Players is pleased to announce the winners of their 2015-2016 Marcom Masque Awards:

Best Play – A Raisin in the Sun
Season Subscriber Favorite Show – Man of La Mancha
Best Director –Catherine Rahm and Alison Mattiza – Something’s Afoot
Best Producer – Kathy Dershimer – A Raisin in the Sun

Lead Actor – Damon Rutledge as Walter Lee Younger in A Raisin in the Sun
Lead Actress – Elizabeth Bouton as Miss Tweed in Something’s Afoot
Major Supporting Actor – Harold Dershimer as Colonel Gillweather in Something’s Afoot
Major Supporting Actress – Charlotte Williams as Beneatha Younger in A Raisin in the Sun
Minor Supporting Actor – Daniel Kruger as Karl Lindner in A Raisin in the Sun
Minor Supporting Actress – Katie Rodriquez as Laurie Morton in Brighton Beach Memoirs
Minor Actor – Samuel Goldman as Clive in Something’s Afoot
Cameo Actor – Kowalsky Lucien as Bobo in A Raisin in the Sun
Cameo Actress – Kira Sherman as the Moorish Dancer in Man of La Mancha

Costume Design – Marie Olivas for Man of La Mancha
Sound Design – Susan Stangl for A Raisin in the Sun
Lighting Design – Richard Potthoff for Man of La Mancha
Set Design – Jim Crawford and Scot Renfro for Man of La Mancha
Set Decoration Design – Sheridan Cole Crawford for Ravenscroft
Original Graphic Design – Andrew Dershimer for A Raisin in the Sun
Special Board Award for Recognition of Outstanding Merit – Jim Crawford

During the awards ceremony, Certificates of Recognition were presented by Lori A. Marple-Pereslete, Kentwood Players’ Production Manager, to all members who worked behind-the-scenes on two or more productions during the season. Kentwood Players members who have reached their 10th, 15th or 25th membership anniversary were announced by Kathy Dershimer, Kentwood Players’ Vice President of Membership.

Please visit their website at for more information about Kentwood Players including their current production Olive and the Bitter Herbs, a comedy by Charles Busch opening July 8 and upcoming auditions for the murder mystery thriller “Wait Until Dark” on July 9 and 10, 2016. You can also find Kentwood Players information on Facebook and Twitter.

To meet the production teams and learn more about Kentwood Players and what goes on at the Westchester Playhouse, the public is invited to attend our general membership meetings, which are free and held on the third Wednesday of each month at 7:30pm at the Westchester Playhouse, located two blocks west of the San Diego Freeway and two blocks north of Manchester at 8301 Hindry Avenue in Westchester, CA 90045.

(Front row, from left) Daniel Kruger, Kathy Dershimer, Harold Dershimer, Catherine Rahm, Alison Mattiza, Susan Goldman Weisbarth, Kowalsky Lucien
(Back row, from left): Lori Kaye (accepting for Katie Rodriquez), Sheridan Cole Crawford, Jim Crawford, Damon Rutledge, Samuel Goldman, Andrew Dershimer, Scot Renfro
Photo credit: Shari Barrett
The Actors' Gang

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.