Mayor McMorrin Receives “Woman of the Year” Honors

On Sunday, April 28, 2024, Assemblymember Isaac G. Bryan hosted the 55th Assembly District’s 2024 Women of the Year event honoring distinguished women who have made an exceptional impact in their communities. This year’s honorees included Culver City Mayor Yasmine-Imani McMorrin and California State Personnel Board Member Dr. Gail Willis.

Assemblymember Bryan presented Mayor McMorrin with the “Women in Leadership Award.” Mayor McMorrin is the first woman of color to hold the position of Mayor in Culver City and only the sixth woman in the City’s 106-year history. Prior to her election to the Culver City City Council, Mayor McMorrin served as the Interim Dean of Students and Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion at the University of Southern California Gould School of Law. She currently serves as the Director of Education Equity for the Children’s Defense Fund-CA in addition to her mayoral duties.

Dr. Gail Willis was presented with the “Jackie Hawthorne Award,” named after the first recipient honored as a Woman of the Year by Assemblymember Bryan and also a close friend of Dr. Willis. Dr. Willis is renowned in the local community and among state leaders as a lifelong teacher, activist, and organizer. She has served on the California Teachers Association’s State Council and has been a National Educational Association delegate. She has also served on several committees for the United Teacher Los Angeles (UTLA) union. Dr. Willis was appointed to her position on the State Personnel Board in 2022 by Governor Gavin Newsom.

“These women are courageous changemakers,” stated Assemblymember Bryan. “Despite the deep history of racism and sexism stacked against them, Mayor McMorrin and Dr. Willis have stood strong in their convictions. And they have never stopped pressing forward. Every day they are doing the work to move California toward greater equity.”

The event was held at The Gathering Spot on West Adams Boulevard,  a Black-owned community, co-working, and event space. 

Theresa Southerland

Photo – Assembly member Bryan and Mayor McMorrin

The Actors' Gang